Enformasyon Logo

A special ceremony was organized last night for presenting ‘The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage (Europa Nostra)’ to the Armenian Church and Monastery’s restoration work in the Arabahmet neighbourhood in Lefkoşa walled city.

The Europa Nostra award was introduced in the ceremony at the Armenian Church and Monastery. Mayor of Lefkoşa Turkish Municipality Mehmet Harmancı , Mayor of Lefkoşa Greek Municipality Konstantinos Yorgacis, President of the European Commission Representation in Cyprus George Markopouliotis, Europa Nostra Secretary General Sneska Quaedvlieg-Mihailovic, responsible architect for the project of restoration Paolo Vitti, UNDP-ACT representative Christopher Louise and US Ambassador to Cyprus Kathleen Ann Doherty attended the ceremony.

The funding of the restoration work was provided by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).

The Europa Nostra Award was also presented with an organized ceremony to architect Paolo Vitti on 11 June 2015 in Oslo, Norway.

This article is serviced by Public Information Office as a Media Rewiew. This is NOT an official public release of MFA