Enformasyon Logo

Following the decision taken by the National Unity Party (UBP) Assembly to withdraw from the coalition government, five UBP deputies will submit their resignations to Prime Minister Ömer Kalyoncu today.  Coalition partner Republican Turkish Party (CTP) will convene this evening in order to determine the steps to be taken. Prime Minister Ömer Kalyoncu will act in accordance with the decisions to be taken at this meeting.

The justification of the decision of UBP Party Assembly to withdraw from the government was declared as “losing the ability and capability of a broad-based government to serve the public.”

After the early general elections in July 2013, the CTP-DP coalition government which was formed by CTP Lefkoşa Deputy Özkan Yorgancıoğlu served between 31 August 2013 and 15 July 2015 and then the CTP-UBP government took office under the Prime Ministry of CTP Girne Deputy Ömer Kalyoncu on 15 July 2015.

This article is serviced by Public Information Office as a Media Rewiew. This is NOT an official public release of MFA