Enformasyon Logo

The European Union (EU) Commission took a recommendation decision which proposes the abolishment of visas for all Turkish citizens in the event of the fulfilment of all remainingconditions by end of June latest.

 The EU Commission has announced its third report regarding the implementation of the road map on Visa Liberalization Dialogue between Turkey and the Union.

 First Vice-President of the European Commission Frans Timmermans said: “Turkey has made impressive progress, particularly in recent weeks, on meeting the benchmarks of its visa liberalisation roadmap. There is still work to be done as a matter of urgency but if Turkey sustains the progress made, they can meet the remaining benchmarks.”

 Stating that they proposed to the European Parliament and Council of the European Union to lift the visa requirements for the citizens of Turkey while travelling to the Schengen countries, Timmermans stated that Turkey needs to take more urgent steps in 5 fields including anti-terrorism law.

 In the event of the abolishment of visas, Turkish citizens will not need a visa for travelling to Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Greece by the end of June.

This article is serviced by Public Information Office as a Media Rewiew. This is NOT an official public release of MFA